Bakers Chocolate Bar Size - fail

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Janet H

Certifiable Executive Chef
Staff member
Another "stick it to the consumer" moment. So...

Today I decided to bake my very favorite marble cake - my grandmothers recipe. I've been making it for many years from her old recipe card; you know the one.. it has grease stains and floury thumbprints and styley old script HANDwriting. No fake ingredients anywhere and includes this:

2 squares of Bakers unsweetened chocolate, gently melted.

I sent hubby to the store to buy it. He comes home and I pick up the box - it has a new look and a new feel. It weighs half as much. More horrifyingly, there is one bar of chocolate with snap lines - no wrapped squares.

After some research and head scratching, I learned that I needed 8 of the little chocolate squares. :ohmy:

Not at all intuitive. The old blocks had a snap line but each segment weighed 1/2 oz. These new segments weigh 1/4 oz each.

I googled up the Kraft Foods site and was bummed to see that they have no conversion help leaving bakers to fend for themselves and guess. I also learned that despite a price reduction (according to corp doublespeak) my store still sells the 4 oz box for about the same price as the old 8 oz box.

Fail.

Last edited:
That really sucks. Too bad they didn't give you a chart for the conversion. Wait, then it would be easy to figure out that you were getting ripped off.

That really sucks. Too bad they didn't give you a chart for the conversion. Wait, then it would be easy to figure out that you were getting ripped off.

Well since they haven't, I guess we can.. here's a visual aid..

new chocolate.jpg

baker-230-3-ps.jpg

New Rules: 4 segments = 1 OZ
Old Rules: 2 segments = 1 OZ

New Rules: 1 Box = 4 OZ
Old Rules: 1 Box = 8 OZ

Boo, hiss.

Last edited:
Things like that are very frustrating and annoying.