Elerflower fritters

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Linux

Washing Up
Elderflower fritters

From my lovely old Victorian garden, I see my neighbour's elderflowers tumble over my wall like a spilt glass of cream soda. Fortunate it's a weekend I am not working, so at first light I steal them, shake them to dislodge any creepy crawlies, then dip the frothy white heads into a light batter of beaten egg whites and flour before frying them in hot oil. Drained and dusted with caster sugar, they are the lightest of Sunday breakfasts, puffing up like deep-fried cumulus. Along with the nettles I have not yet made into tea and the dandelions that could - but never will be - salad, these form the free bounty of my beloved garden, the nearest I get to the world of hedgerow cooking. Being a very urban cook, I have never quite got into the cowslip wine and wildhop vinegar life, but that doesn't stop me wanting the best of it.

Use a really light batter for these, otherwise the effect is somewhat lost. This one barely covers the flowers and cooks very quickly. You could dip the flowers into brandy before battering, or even a little sweet wine.
Serves 4

for the batter:
3½ oz / 100g plain flour
2 tablespoons sunflower oil
175ml sparkling mineral water
a tablespoon of caster sugar
an egg white
oil for deep drying
16 large elderflowers
a plate thickly dusted with caster sugar