Originally Posted by Sir_Loin_of_Beef
The drawback to that is you can not share a pie made with lard with any Muslim friends or any Jewish friends who keep kosher. Marie Callender uses butter (I asked them) as the shortening in their pie crusts, but they won't give out the whole recipe.
Vegetarians don't want to eat lard either.
When I can find it, I like to use palm oil. It's solid at room temperature without having trans or saturated fat.
The local health food store carries a vegan shortening that doesn't have weird chemicals in it, but it doesn't work as well as the palm oil.