My Buttercream frosting broke

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
Hey All, Long time no post...

Naturally, I saw a recipe for Buttercream frosting on Good Eats the other night, AFTER I made mine & broke it. I got my recipe from Perfect Pastry by Nick Malgieri, I think is the author.
Anyhow, it called for 5 egg whites to be heated till hot in a pot w/ 1 1/2c of sugar. I did this, and then it said to beat it until it increases in volume. Now, being an experienced baker, I'm thinking that it will end up like a meringue volume increase, and that did not happen. It increased, but it became glossy when I finally started adding the 3 sticks of butter to it, and it broke. THEN, when I added the lemon juice, and zest, it just became like a thick, clumpy texture, mmmmmm, sort of like whipped cream cheese, or that kind of boursin cheese in a tub.... I put it in the fridge until it was time to frost the cake, and the outer edges had hardened, but the inside was still spreadable.
now, the frosting tasted good, considering I hate buttercream frosting because of the butter taste. It tasted like lemon frosting, but I could only spread a minute amount on the cake as it was ssssooooo rich. Then, I had to spread a center layer of lemon curd on the top of the cake as well, which took away some of the richness of the frosting.
It was a badass cake, mind you. Double layer of silver white starlite cake, w/ lemon curd in the center and buttercream frosting. It tasted like it came out of a restaurant, I'm tellin ya.
But, my point is, can anyone tell me their experiences or have a solution to the reason my frosting broke??

Thanks guys

B.

I have never had buttercream break but I do not often make it. It needs looooong beating and the butter very soft.

I never put egg whites in my buttercream as the oil content of the butter will not work with them right.