Join Date: May 2008
Location: Jonesboro, GA (Suburb of Atlanta)
Daughter, Granddaughter and Grandson are lactose intolerant. Grandson is also allergic to a milk byproduct but has't figured out what yet, he is only 5 but you learn a lot fast when someone in your family has this problem.
Dairy Derived Ingredients: Acidophilus Milk, Casein, Caseinate, Curds, Galactose, Ghee, Lactalbumin, Lactate, Lactic Acid, Lactoglobulin, Lactose, Malted Milk, Nougat, Potassium Caseinate, Ready Sponge, Rennet, Sodium Caseinate, Whey
Beware of artificial butter flavor, caramel color, flavorings, seasonings, canned fish, canned tuna, "non-dairy substitutes" (often contain dairy), processed meats, deli meats, supplements and medications (may contain cornstarch that contains casein), cosmetics and hygiene products. Beware of deli-sliced meat, as stores will often slice cheese on the same equipment they use for slicing meat.
From the Food Allergy & Anapylaxis Network
How to read a label for a Milk-Free Diet. Avoid foods that contain milk or any of these ingredients: Artificial butter flavor, butter, butter fat, butter oil, buttermilk, cascin, caeinates, cheese, cream, cottage cheese, curds, custard, ghee, half & half, lactalbumin, lactalbumin phosphate, lactoferrin, lactulose, milk in any form including condensed, derivative, dry, evaporated, goat’s milk and milk from other animals, low-fat, malted, milkfat, non-fat, powder, protein, skimmed, solids, whole, nougat, pudding, rennet casein, sour cream, sour cream solids, sour milk solids, whey, yogurt.
Following my indicate the presence of milk protein: caramel candies, chocolate, flavoring (including natural and artificial), high protein flour, lactic acid starter culture, lactose, luncheon meat, hot dogs, sausages, margarine, non-dairy products.