Tools of the Trade

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Pichet

Assistant Cook
I know this is a really general question and "how long is a piece of sting" and all that but where I have experience cooking I am an uber novice in baking!

So my question is what basic ingredients so I go out and get to start baking. I like things like brownies and dessert bars!!

Thanks again

Pichet :ermm:

Start with a simple recipe that interests you. Look at the needed ingredients. The more you bake, the more your ingredient supply will build up. If it is chocolate desserts you are looking at, then you will definitely need chocolate. Unsweetened, Semi-sweetened squares, chocolate chips, cocoa, (does the recipe call for Dutch process?) Double acting baking powder, flour, (all purpose or cake flour?) Nuts, pecans, walnuts, hazel, etc. (make sure that those who will be eating your treasures are not allergic to nuts) Read the recipe carefully. Most baking calls for all purpose. I love to bake. Everyone loves dessert. Not everyone loves liver. Good luck with your new adventure. :chef:

Last edited: