What the heck is fondant?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

htc

Head Chef
Ok, so I'm a novice baker...I bought a Wilton product called fondant...don't know what I will do with it. (figured I better buy it, just in case I want to use it soon) I know fondantused to decorate cakes, etc.
I also picked up a book called the essential cake decorating book. This is an awesome book, even though I'm not at that level of baking. I don't see anything in the book called fondant.

Is fondant sugar paste? I know marzipan is made from almonds and can be shaped (I think), is fondant like this? Can I use it to make little shapes or figures? Or can it only be rolled out and covering something? Ideas on how I can use it? I went to Wilton's website and see that I can add coloring to it (I bought basic white)

Thank you!! :D

Fondant is a sugar syrup that is crystallized to a smooth, creamy white mass and is used for both icing cakes and cake decorations. The cooked Fondant (European Fondant) is quite difficult to make but is the best Fondant recipe around due to its elasticity and smoothness.
European Fondant is made by boiling sugar, water and glucose to 240°.
It is then poured onto a marble slap and sprinkle with some water to prevent crystallization. Once the syrup has cooled down to 110°F, start to work the sugar with a steel scraper, folding it onto itself. Do not attempt to work it before it cooled to 110° or it will become tough and coarse. After a while it will start turning white. Work the fondant until it is smooth and creamy. It may take well over 40 minutes to achieve the right consistency. Once smooth and creamy store in an airtight container for later use.