"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > Recipes & Ingredients > Desserts, Sweets & Cookies & Candy > Brownies & Dessert Bars
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-12-2006, 07:50 PM   #21
Senior Cook
 
aguynamedrobert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: California
Posts: 228
Hey Philso...no I don't think I got your PM...so try it again because I would like to hear your background in the Culinary Field....thanks and everybody have a good one and keep those brownies clean, if you know what I mean.

Robert
__________________

__________________
Some Chocolate Guy
http://www.chocolateguild.com
aguynamedrobert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2006, 08:07 PM   #22
Senior Cook
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: japan
Posts: 462
hey rob, i just noticed this:

"1) Grease a 6x9 inch baking dish ..."

i misread it and used a 9x9 pan, which is pretty usual. they were fine. do you use a 6x9??
__________________

__________________
let me make sure that wine's ok before i use it.
philso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2006, 03:18 AM   #23
Senior Cook
 
aguynamedrobert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: California
Posts: 228
Yeah I use a 6x9...it makes thick brownies...if you can get them to turn out the way you like them on 9x9 then thats great but I enjoy them thick...how thick did then end up being in the 9x9?
__________________
Some Chocolate Guy
http://www.chocolateguild.com
aguynamedrobert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2006, 06:01 AM   #24
Senior Cook
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: japan
Posts: 462
well, i didn't measure them, and they're long gone, but i thought they were fairly thick. maybe an inch and a quarter or a tad more?? i recently have been having a lot of christmas parties to give, so i made a triple batch and loaded them up with pecans. baked in 25x25 cm pan. made about 25 inch thick brownies per pan. came out fine.
__________________
let me make sure that wine's ok before i use it.
philso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2006, 09:45 AM   #25
Senior Cook
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 170
That does sound good, thanks for the recipe!
Sararwelch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2007, 11:05 AM   #26
Assistant Cook
 
bstorm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: South Texas
Posts: 21
I would really love to try these brownies, but I'm still trying to figure out how to convert your measurements to laymans terms! I'm obviously not a pro at this, but I'm working on it! Lately I do seem to be walking around with that "deer caught in the headlights" look! I have to blame it on my 15 yr. old, who looks like she's 18 and thinks she's 22! My husband is currently sharpening his knives and loading all his guns!
__________________
bstorm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2007, 03:30 PM   #27
Senior Cook
 
aguynamedrobert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: California
Posts: 228
Hey Everybody,
I changed up the recipe slightly to make it a little less sweet and change the flavor slightly...try it out...

Recipies
__________________
Some Chocolate Guy
http://www.chocolateguild.com
aguynamedrobert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2007, 05:01 PM   #28
Assistant Cook
 
Lovestobake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by philso View Post
by the way, just for the homecooks: rob's recipe is in ounces by weight, not measuring cup ounces. use 3 eggs.
how about the vanilla, about a tablespoon or so?
1/4 cup = 4 Tbsp. = 2 oz., so if you want 1/4 oz. you'll want 1/8 of that. I'm thinking clearly you want 1/2 Tbsp. (1 1/2 tsp.) of vanilla...make it pure.
__________________
Lovestobake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2008, 04:59 PM   #29
Executive Chef
 
redkitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 3,200
Made your brownies tonight Robert and they were absolutely delicious! I used Kahlua and 85% Lindt Dark Chocolate bars. I only had an 8x8 pan, which worked fine.

Thanks for sharing, will definitely make these again!
__________________
Accentuate the positives, medicate the negatives ~ Amy Sedaris
redkitty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2008, 05:10 PM   #30
Assistant Cook
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 26
can i substitute the flour with whole wheat flour?

for health reasons, i can only bake with whole wheat flour. do you think i could substitute the flour with whole wheat flour? partially or the full amt?
__________________

__________________
lovestoeat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
None

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Discuss Cooking on Facebook

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.