Bread in a jar

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

papabuddy

Assistant Cook
Im just learning to make bread in a jar. My problem is when I take it out of the oven. Bread is spotty looks like its not done in spots. what could be my problem. I may not be asking the right ? After bread is cooled I take one out of jar it taste good.

Hello, and welcome to DC.

I’ve never heard of bread in a jar. Could you post a recipe or a link? It sounds interesting!

Welcome to the forum!

With all of the bread I have made, and all the bread books I have, I had never seen a reference to this, either. The only jar I could imagine baking it in would be the tapered pint mason jar (also ok for freezing, for the same reason), otherwise the jars would break, if the bread pressed into the neck. When I googled "bread in a jar" that's what I found!

What's the purpose of this type of bread? I bake in all sizes of cans - many of the coffee cans are no longer available - when I want round loaves, for certain lunch meats.

I used to use pyrex loaf pans, and I remember that the bread browned faster, so I had to reduce the oven heat by 25°, so they would bake through, before getting too browned. However, I don't recall the crust being "spotty" in the glass pans.

Im just learning to make bread in a jar. My problem is when I take it out of the oven. Bread is spotty looks like its not done in spots. what could be my problem. I may not be asking the right ? After bread is cooled I take one out of jar it taste good.

Try baking them in a water bath.

I have made bread in a jar many times, but it is
quick bread, not yeast bread. Banana ,apple ect.
Haven't made it in years. You use wide mouth jars .
As soon as you take them out of the oven you put
the lid on and they seal.

Josie

Josie
They may seal, but that didn't doesn't make them shelf-stable.

:)Quote:
Originally Posted by Josie1945 View Post