Has anyone had a better classic brownie than ATK's recipe?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Bacardi

Senior Cook
I've been cooking brownies for America's Test Kitchen for about five years now. Everyone always says it's by far the best they're had. Just curious to see if anyone who has tried them has had some brownies they thought were better? I'm always up for trying new things and experimenting :)

Yes, I have had the ultimate in brownie nirvana. The trick is to make brownies the day before you serve them. Chocolate always tastes better the next day. My friends adore Nick Malgieri's Supernatural Brownies. I make them with Ghiradelli bittersweet chocolate and they are moist and rich and incredible. I have taken many master classes with him.

My two favorites: "Super Fudgy Triple Chocolate Espresso Brownies" from Cook's Illustrated and "Chewy Brownies" from Fine Cooking.

Maida Heatter also has French Fudge Squares with a Fudge Glaze. They are made differently than brownies but are similar. The squares are made the night before and the glaze is added the day of serving so that it doesn't lose its sheen.
Now, those are really extravagant.

oh yeah, my favorite is the recipe in the King Arthur Flour 200th Anniversary cookbook, for whole wheat brownies, I do the substitution for what ever chocolate is called for, i use 3/4 cup Penzeys dark natural cocoa and 4 T butter in addition to the other butter and also use a flaked salt,.... exquisite

I make Martha Stewart's Super Fudgy Brownies and they are sooo good - a sure fire cure for PMS if ever I found one.