"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > General Cooking Information > Menu Planning > Today's Menu
Old 12-17-2010, 05:26 AM   #1
Chef Extraordinaire
Site Moderator
12/17/10 TGIFriday What's Cooking?

I braised the pork shoulder in sherry and water last night and stuck it in the fridge.

The bottom third of it cooked directly in the braising liquid, so the meat from that side of the roast will have a rich flavor.

I'm stripping the roast and separating sections for different bags for the freezer. I'm going to marinate some shredded pork in taco seasoning and a can of stewed diced tomatoes. I'll probably put it in the freezer so it will be yummy for tacos or burritos later on.

I'll take that bottom braised meat and taste test it for ideas. I've never done this with sherry before, but the broth tastes really good. Not sweet, but really rich.

So that's the way my day is headed. How about you?

If you can't see the bright side of life, polish the dull side.
Zhizara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2010, 08:25 AM   #2
I gonna try a new cake recipe, based on genoise and round chocolates :)
I'm not sure about the recipe yet !

Come and discover our cuisine, our ideas and test new tastes... live from France on FrenchysCuisine.com
Frenchys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2010, 08:31 AM   #3
Master Chef
I'm going to make egg foo yung and sesame noodles. Hope I can pull this off. Two first time recipes in the same meal.
I could give up chocolate but I'm no quitter!
jabbur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2010, 08:46 AM   #4
Flour Child
frenchy...i had to look up "genoise" but it was well worth the effort...yum! You and jabbur are certainly adventurous today.