Another Pleasant Valley Sunday. Dinner 6/5/16

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Dawgluver

Chef Extraordinaire
We will have spaghetti with sausage marinara meat sauce.

How 'bout you?

Probably will just snack today. We had a big potluck picnic at church for lunch so ate more than usual for midday meal.

Thai chicken thighs (the recipe that Kayelle posted the other day), lime basmati rice, broc. I stopped at the Asian market to get some sweet chili sauce and fish sauce. They had a few brands of fish sauce, so I grabbed one at random. When I got to the checkout:

Store guy - "Do you know what you are doing with this?"
Me - "No. The recipe calls for it, but I've never used it before."
Store guy - "Then you don't want this. Get the clear sauce - Squid brand. This stuff scares even me."

Now I know that there is more than one type of fish sauce. But at $1.99 for a 25 oz. bottle, I think I have a lifetime supply.

Rock, glad you mentioned that! Will check it out!

Tenspeed, that cracked me up! I use fish sauce for a lot of things. Have fun with it!

Hope you like that recipe as much as we do 10speed. I noticed on another thread that you aren't a salt lover like me, so go easy on the fish sauce.

SC got a pork shoulder out of the freezer, and I'll be doing Kaluha pig in the Nesco Roaster.

Mirliton halves with a crawfish cream sauce and a rice pilaf.:yum:

We're going out for my birthday dinner tonight, to a local tapas place that is having a special dinner with tequila pairings. Should be good!

Attachments

• 2016-06-02 14.59.40.jpg
    2016-06-02 14.59.40.jpg
    23.3 KB · Views: 257
Looks like a fun night, GG. Have a great time!