Careers in food other than being a chef

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

GB

Chief Eating Officer
OK I hate my job and I have been thinking more and more about a career with food as it is obviously something I love. The problem is I don't want to be a chef I don't think. I do want to cook, but I don't want to work in a restaurant. I want to work a normal schedule (as normal as possible) and I would prefer to now have to work holidays. I know that working in a restaurant means crazy hours and working all of the holidays. What I would really like to do some day is own my own place where I sell prepared foods for people to take home for dinner, but I have no food experience yet and zero business skills so that dream is not something that is going to happen any time soon.

What I want to know is what jobs are there out there that would have me working with food (cooking, prep, etc.), but not in a restaurant?

What about working in a deli? Working in a deli would allow you make sandwiches, soups, salads, desserts, etc. I know some deli's that even make lasagnas and other entrees that can be purchased to take home.

My mom works in a restaurant as a prep cook and her hours are not that bad. She works from 7:00 am to 2:30 pm. Every once in awhile she will work some odd hours if the restaurant is catering a party or some other function. But the restaurant that she works at is only open for breakfast and lunch.

What about supplying dishes to a restaurant? You make them, they serve them? Or supply cakes/puddings etc to a bakery?

GB, it's like you have read my mind. I do some catering. Mostly small jobs of 10 people or so but once in a while I have a BIG job where the corp asks for me by name. I just did a gig for IBM here in CHicago for 300 people. It was at a hotel and they were a bit miffed that food was being brought in from outside the hotel. Oh well, right LOL