For chefs, cooks, etc...

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

VeraBlue

Executive Chef
I'm an executive chef with a large dining service corporation. I spend the entire day immersed in cooking, menus, production records, HAACP records, customers and clients. I love it....but....

By the time I get home (happily, I'm usually home by 5pm) I have no motivation to cook dinner, at all. When my kids were younger, I made a good effort and managed to cook a nice dinner about 5 times a week, including weekends. Now that both are in college (although home for the summer) everyone is on the Bataan Death March. It's too hot, I'm too tired, and I just don't want to eat anything once I get home.

On the other hand, I cook wonderful innovative meals on the weekend, starting with Friday night. (hehe, I have 'special' company each weekend....:wub:) Then I really get to cook the way I like, pairing the food with cocktails and wines..

But during the week it's like a gulag here. Do any other chefs or cooks suffer the same curse?? Everyone eats so much better than we do...

I too am an Exec.Chef, for the Crowne Plaza Hotels, and I have a 60-80 hour work week. I typically prepare dinner at work, and have a workiing dinner in my office, or box it up and take it home. If I don't do that, I dine from the rotisserie at the finest 7-11 in the niegbhorhood. The guys up at the sevvie all know me and are like, "Jon, you a chef man, why you eattin this stuff?", the constant reply from me is,"I have been in a 113degree kitchen looking at food from 5am, it is now 10pm, I AINT COOKIN JACK!"

I think it is common throughout the industry, that or a quart of something "adult" for dinner, and that gets to be tooooo much come morning time...

Last edited:
at Chef school, we usually dine after we prepare our meals.
then take-out & a few adult beverages after school.

I hear ya, all...