"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > General Cooking Information > Menu Planning > Today's Menu

Old 11-01-2006, 08:08 PM   #1
Executive Chef

Wink Leftovers

If any of you have graced my writing enough to recall what I have to say, you know I am a professional chef...and rarely cook at home, save for the weekend. Friday, Saturday and Sunday my house is full, between my boyfriend staying for the three days, my son and daughter in from school, and my (ex) husband and his girlfriend popping over to raid my fridge...I have a reason to cook. (It's different cooking for people you love, yes?)

As I've mentioned from time to time, I have portion control issues. I feed people like they've recently returned from Bataan. I always make more than I need, knowing there will be leftovers. (We tend to live off leftovers around here all week long).

My problem stems from having leftover 'cake' and other cake like products. Right now, there is half a cheesecake in my fridge, a CocoDolly birthday cake chunk, 4 entenman's donuts, and about 2 pounds of butter bakery cookies. Great if Marie Antoinette was coming to visit..

Cake has a syren's effect on me. It calls me, even if I'm 40 miles away at work. No sooner do I get into the house than I am drawn to the kitchen. It takes every ounce of willpower to drag myself in the opposite direction.

I send huge pieces of dessert (and just about anything else I prepared during the weekend) home with Lou so he can prevent starvation during his week. I send plates of food back with my daughter to her dorm. I give to my (ex)husband's girlfriend, and he pops in a couple of times a week to stave off his own starvation. My son, who is commuting this year has such a goofy schedule that he eats out more than in. That leaves me and the cake. Or pie. Or struedel.

Strangely, I'm never left with a plate of broccoli, or corn, or tomatoes. It's always some fattening potato thing, or pasta thing, or cake.