Meatloaf, how I love thee, let me count the ways...

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Zhizara

Chef Extraordinaire
Moderator Emeritus
There are so many ways to make meatloaf, but I'm sure many of you have favorite ways, ingredients and tips that I think it would be nice to ..count the ways.

I'm making a meatloaf for dinner tonight and plan to use mushroom stems as a filler. I've never done it before, but it sounds good. I've got bacon so I'll top it with some ketchup and bacon on top.

How about you? What's your favorite version?:chef:

I have no favorite version because meatloaf is one of my dishes I never make the same twice. Oh, I have a short list of basic ingredients, but when it comes to adding additional flavors, I just wing it. And nothing ever gets measured. It's a "Little of this... a little of that." Often I use BBQ sauce as a topping glaze instead of ketchup. Or I'll add a mixture of cheeses at the core like a melted filling, and use chili powder blended in with the meat. Or I'll mix in a couple of cups of mixed vegetables (broccoli, cauliflower, whole corn, carrot medallions, etc. and then served with a cream sauce.

It's play time with no rules! :sorcerer:

Last edited:
I change mine up alot too but some of my consistancies are;
I usually only use ground beef.Fresh is better than frozen but I use whatever I have.
Lots of onion.
1 grated carrot
2 celery stalks
2 eggs
1/4 cup flax meal
ground sage
Montreal steak.
A little bread crumb-maybe a 1/4 cup at most.

I also like to mix my ingredients as loose as i can get them then forming it in the pan.We made one in the shape of a body last week for fun but I really liked the texture with the additional surface area.

My daughter doesn't like ketchup or BBQ sauce on it so we covered it Pace picante last time and it was great.We have a new topping now.