"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > General Cooking Information > Menu Planning > Today's Menu

Old 05-13-2007, 09:15 AM   #1
Master Chef

Send a message via Yahoo to Barb L.
Wink Mothers Day dinner - Sunday, May 13

This Mom is Cookin' ! (by choice), I put in an 8 lb. pork shoulder in the oven this morning, with a dry rub, it will cook 8 hrs. at 250'. I made deviled eggs, potato and macaroni salads yesterday. Baking some baked beans too. Cherry/cake dessert w/ice cream.
Have a great day all ! Barb L.

Old 05-13-2007, 10:08 AM   #2
Assistant Cook

Tonight was the first real meal I tried cooking by myself as I am new to it all. Since I bought my first house this year I have taking an interest in cooking.

Tonight for mother's day I made a pasta dish with slow cooked red and yellow peppers with cherry tomatoes, italian sausage, red onion, garlic, parsley and balsamic vinegar.

I was pretty happy for my first proper meal. My mother was also impressed so that was good.

Old 05-13-2007, 10:15 AM   #3
Chef Extraordinaire

Site Moderator

Location: I live in the Heartland of the United States - Western Kentucky
Congratulations, dispute! Sounds like a delightful meal. I'm sure your mother was proud of you.

Another "cooking by choice" here, but easy cooking. Took the huge leftover corned beef and sauce from the freezer. Will simmer some fresh cabbage wedges in the sauce nice and long, put the beef in near the end to heat up good and have mashed taters along with.

I don't know if we'll have dessert. We'll be pretty full after we've finished our "soul" food dinner. I LOOOOVE corned beef and cabbage. Guess it's the Irish in me.
Old 05-13-2007, 10:23 AM   #4
Executive Chef

Dispute! Good for you! It's real easy once you get in the kitchen and start! Happy that it turned out so well for you .