Mothers Day dinner - Sunday, May 13

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Barb L.

Master Chef
This Mom is Cookin' ! (by choice), I put in an 8 lb. pork shoulder in the oven this morning, with a dry rub, it will cook 8 hrs. at 250'. I made deviled eggs, potato and macaroni salads yesterday. Baking some baked beans too. Cherry/cake dessert w/ice cream.
Have a great day all ! Barb L.

Last edited:
Tonight was the first real meal I tried cooking by myself as I am new to it all. Since I bought my first house this year I have taking an interest in cooking.

Tonight for mother's day I made a pasta dish with slow cooked red and yellow peppers with cherry tomatoes, italian sausage, red onion, garlic, parsley and balsamic vinegar.

I was pretty happy for my first proper meal. My mother was also impressed so that was good.

Congratulations, dispute! Sounds like a delightful meal. I'm sure your mother was proud of you.

Another "cooking by choice" here, but easy cooking. Took the huge leftover corned beef and sauce from the freezer. Will simmer some fresh cabbage wedges in the sauce nice and long, put the beef in near the end to heat up good and have mashed taters along with.

I don't know if we'll have dessert. We'll be pretty full after we've finished our "soul" food dinner. I LOOOOVE corned beef and cabbage. Guess it's the Irish in me.:LOL:

Dispute! Good for you! It's real easy once you get in the kitchen and start! Happy that it turned out so well for you;) .

I'm being taken out for my meal. It's a special friend of mine who is doing the taking and I personally can't wait. Don't know what it'll be or where, but it's sure to be a time of good conversation, good food, and wonderful memory sharing which'll be my favorite part!

Happy Mother's Day to all those blessed mommy's out there!