Turkey, Turkey Stock, Cream and a slow cooker

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

BIGANDYT

Assistant Cook
Hi Guys,

Ive been looking round the internet for recipies but im a newbie and havent found what im looking for..

What Im hoping to achieve is a creamy turkey soup

And ive got left over turkey, bout 5-6 pints of turkey stock and a couple of pints of single cream,

Question ive got is can i whack all of this in two slow cookers and just leave for around 4-6 hours bit of seasoning and hey presto...?

Maybe chuck in some chopped mushrooms?

Last edited:
In my opinion, your cream isn't going to hold up in a slow cooker for a long period of time. It will separate and the fat solids will rise to the top, cook on the sides and you will end up with unsightly chunks in your soup. This happens all of the time with creamed soups that are held for long periods of time. I would make the turkey soup, then add the cream near the end, like the last half hour, or so. Which is when most cream is added to soups. You could stand to pour in a bit of thickener with it also to help bind it all together. A simple one is to make a smooth paste with one tblsp flour to 1 tblsp water and bang it in just before the cream. If you want a really thick soup, I would double or even triple the thickener. Give it a good stir to blend it in and help prevent lumps. Then add your cream.

That is what I would do, anyway.

Last edited:
You can make turkey soup on the stove much quicker. Cooking it for that long isn't going to make it taste any better. Cook the turkey and veggies in the stock for 30 minutes and then, like Rocklobster said, add the cream at the end.

I agree. Add the cream at the end. What all is going in your soup besides turkey and mushrooms? Do you want all the stock you have to be in the soup or some reserved for another occasion.