Weekend of Jan 9-11, '09

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Alix

Everymom
Moderator Emeritus
Lets do a dinner together this weekend. I'm thinking pork roast, potatoes, cooked veggie, salad and fresh bread for dinner with a pie for dessert. (Details on specific in a later post)

I'm going to do this on Friday night and will raise a glass to all of you doing the same. Who's with me?

I'm sorry to be such a newb, but does that mean we all fix the same thing and share out? I haven't had a pork roast in ever so long...sounds yummy and I think my family would enjoy that. Do we share recipes and stuff? Like a said: Total newb.:ermm:

HMG - sharing recipes would be awesome! Pics are good too!

I'll make mine on Sunday, as Fridays and Sats I usually don't cook. I'm rather fond of this chipotle/raspberry glazed pork loin from Food TV. I might do a pork tenderloin instead though.

I'm in - on Sunday!

i'm in. but the bread and pie will be made by someone else.

someone who gets paid for it. :cool:

friday will probably be sushi. saturday is a double shift for me, so we're talking sunday.

i've been looking for another standing pork rib roast. that'd be great to do on sunday, in the crock pot with apples, sweet onions, fennel, stock, and fresh sage and thyme from the garden. makes an unbelievable gravy! :pig:

I'm going to do:

Pork roast - dry rub and then roasted slow in the oven. I won't make it pulled pork, so not THAT low and slow.

Potatoes - cubed, tossed with EVOO and some worcestershire sauce, lemon zest, pepper, some salt and likely a dash or two of the dry rub. Roasted in a pan next to the pork roast. Maybe an hour...or an hour and a quarter. I'll see how it goes.

Bread - Ol Blues Honey Butter bread is a hit here so either that one or a loaf of crusty french bread.