What are you baking today? | 2013

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
I've never used ripe bananas before, they were always on the black side, so we'll see how how freezing them intensifies the flavor.
Thanks
I still don't see how that will prevent fruit flies though...I've done all the traps before, both storebought and homemade, and it just seems to me the more fresh fruit you have in your house the more chance of fruit flies coming in with it.

I've never used ripe bananas before, they were always on the black side, so we'll see how how freezing them intensifies the flavor.
Thanks
I still don't see how that will prevent fruit flies though...I've done all the traps before, both storebought and homemade, and it just seems to me the more fresh fruit you have in your house the more chance of fruit flies coming in with it.

It's not the freezing that intensifies the flavor - it's letting them ripen till they're turning brown with black spots.
I'm sure bringing fresh fruit in the house does increase the chance of having fruit flies, but it's worth it to me to have the fruit.

It's not the freezing that intensifies the flavor - it's letting them ripen till they're turning brown with black spots.
I'm sure bringing fresh fruit in the house does increase the chance of having fruit flies, but it's worth it to me to have the fruit.

Have to agree. Those flies are rather on the skinny side. Almost anorexic. They don't eat much. :angel:

Well this whole conversation was king of moot then :LOL:

I guess it all depends on when the flies appear. I like bananas that are barely ripe, just past green. If a banana is yellow with brown spots, I'm not interested. Frozen bananas will turn black in the freezer.