"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > General Cooking Information > Menu Planning > Today's Menu

Old 05-03-2014, 11:26 AM   #1
Executive Chef

What kinda vittles ya haven fur supper May 3, 2014?

My Cuban style pork shoulder is a cookin on the Egg. I'll put tagether the other fixins later.

Old 05-03-2014, 12:15 PM   #2
Head Chef

I'm going to make something I've never made before using a grain I've never used before. (There's always Chinese take out! )

Warm Farro Salad With Asparagus, Peas, and Feta

"This warm one-pot farro salad is loaded with tender spring peas and asparagus, along with heartier ingredients like kale and crunchy almonds. Tossed with a tangy lemon-mustard vinaigrette and briny feta cheese, it's a healthy dish that celebrates of the transition from winter to spring."

Warm Farro Salad With Asparagus, Peas, and Feta | Serious Eats : Recipes

Old 05-03-2014, 01:49 PM   #3
Executive Chef

What kinda vittles ya haven fur supper May 3, 2014?

Cave, my chef nephew made a similar salad a few nights ago and served it with grilled garlic prawns. I noticed it on his Facebook page. I have never used Farro either, must give it a try though sounds and looks like a tasty salad.

I'm not sure what we are eating tonight, was thinking of making a potato salad and I have fresh corn, just need to come up with a meat. I think there is some steak In the freezer. Better go check ;)
Old 05-03-2014, 02:40 PM   #4
Master Chef

I have two super-thick, bone-in pork chops I'll brine for a bit with hard cider and spices. The "fresh" corn actually lived up to its claim (I always squeeze a kernel to make sure the juice is clear ) so they'll go on the grill too. Hoping there is also room for a couple chicken breasts - I'd like to use them in a few days for a different dish. A new dish if I ever run out of leftovers - of which there probably will be some from tonight too. Salad to start; starch, if any, to be determined later.