What kinda vittles ya haven fur supper May 3, 2014?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

CraigC

Master Chef
My Cuban style pork shoulder is a cookin on the Egg. I'll put tagether the other fixins later.

I'm going to make something I've never made before using a grain I've never used before. (There's always Chinese take out! :))

Warm Farro Salad With Asparagus, Peas, and Feta

"This warm one-pot farro salad is loaded with tender spring peas and asparagus, along with heartier ingredients like kale and crunchy almonds. Tossed with a tangy lemon-mustard vinaigrette and briny feta cheese, it's a healthy dish that celebrates of the transition from winter to spring."

Warm Farro Salad With Asparagus, Peas, and Feta | Serious Eats : Recipes

Cave, my chef nephew made a similar salad a few nights ago and served it with grilled garlic prawns. I noticed it on his Facebook page. I have never used Farro either, must give it a try though sounds and looks like a tasty salad.

I'm not sure what we are eating tonight, was thinking of making a potato salad and I have fresh corn, just need to come up with a meat. I think there is some steak In the freezer. Better go check ;)

I have two super-thick, bone-in pork chops I'll brine for a bit with hard cider and spices. The "fresh" corn actually lived up to its claim (I always squeeze a kernel to make sure the juice is clear :brows: ) so they'll go on the grill too. Hoping there is also room for a couple chicken breasts - I'd like to use them in a few days for a different dish. A new dish if I ever run out of leftovers - of which there probably will be some from tonight too. Salad to start; starch, if any, to be determined later.

Here is the pork shoulder, come to room temp and ready to go on the Egg. I'll cover it with foil for the first few hours of cooking.

36788-albums318-picture5905.jpg

The ingredients for the Fixins.