250 guests event planning

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

CharlieD

Chef Extraordinaire
This is kind of multi question question.

Event is on Monday, at 4 PM. I have whole day Sunday and Monday. It is a commercial kitchen and I will have two ovens. Otherwise it is not a well stocked kitchen. The dinner will be served buffet style, but we will try to make it nice. Event is for adults and kids.

First of all, does anybody have an experience cooking dinner for so many people? My concern is time management. I will be cooking 3 things. 60 pounds rib eye roast, same amount chuck roast, and also same amount of boneless skinless chicken breasts.

I am not really good at planning, especially that kind of event.

I also need a general menu advise. Salad, for example, what kind and maybe how many different salads? Salad bar where people will chose what they want or actual salad with all the fixings and dressing? Or maybe actual salad but2-3 different dressings on the side? The host would like fancy dinner. Would be nice to accommodate him.

Since it is right after work/school event should the soup be on the menu?

we will have cake ordered, but should we make bunch of cookies?

Gosh, I think there are more questions, but since I have no idea about cooking for so many people neither do I know what to ask.

I am open for all kind of suggestions. Menu, recipe, way to serve, how to keep food warm, drinks, dessert, etc.

250 people? On such short notice? One word comes to mind: YIKES! :ohmy: :wacko:

The most I've ever cooked for was just under 100. It was a buffet, but a staggered event where people came and went over a period of 4 hours. So I didn't have to have everything ready all at once. Even then, it was a LOT of work.