Christmas Eve

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

elaine l

Head Chef
After many years of "begging" I just inherited Christmas Eve. So now I need a menu. I am of Italian descent and remember when the meal consisted of only fish dishes. I don't want to go to that extreme but would like something along those lines. The number of guests will be in the 25 range. So my request is a menu. Including different courses. The meal itself doesn't have to require all sit down. Would like to have different stations. I am hoping (with fingers crossed) that Verablue sees this and offers some help! Thanks in advance for everyone's help!

I'm of Italian descent, too, and I remember my grandmother making all of the different fish dishes. I don't make Christmas Eve dinner like she did; I do more of an appetizer thing for Christmas Eve. I've been making this for a few years and everyone loves it.

Hot Crab Dip
1/2 cup butter
4 T chopped green onions
3 tbsp flour
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 tsp black pepper
1 cup half & half
1 1/2 cup shredded Gruyere cheese
Juice of 1/2 lemon
Tabasco to taste
2 lbs fresh lump crabmeat
Crackers and/or chips

Melt the butter on low heat in a medium size skillet.
Saute the green onions in the butter
Add the flour, salt & pepper; stir until smooth
Remove from heat and add the half & half slowly, stirring constantly
Return to the heat
Add the Gruyere and stir until melted
Stir in the lemon juice
Fold in the crab meat
Add a few shakes of Tabasco (optional)
Cook 5 minutes over low heat until heated through
Serve hot (chafing dish works best) with crackers and/or chips

Crab Cakes
(Got this recipe from a restaurant called Jimmy's in Colorado). Complicated, but amazing. You can find this recipe on various web sites.

2 lb lump blue crabmeat
1/2C mayonnaise or homemade aioli
4t Old Bay
6 green onions, finely chopped
3 tablespoons chopped fresh basil leaves
2 large eggs