"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > General Cooking Information > Menu Planning > Special Events Planning & Holiday Cooking

Old 01-18-2007, 01:56 PM   #1
Assistant Cook

Send a message via ICQ to ManedWolf Send a message via MSN to ManedWolf Send a message via Yahoo to ManedWolf
I'm New and Have a Menu Challenge (merged)

Heya,
I just found the site and wanted to say hi and thanks for having me as part of the community. I just started my culinary arts training this week and so far itís going excellent. My background has been in Retail Business Management, but Iím completely committed to getting into the culinary industry. My short term goal is to get my Red Seal certification. After that I want to open my own restaurant. Since I have no culinary background I have started a new job as a line cook. That decision is based on the fact I honestly feel that as a Chef or Owner my decisions must be based on experience in the jobs I will eventually be asking my employees to do. I donít look at this as being menial work either, because itís actually very challenging. I tip my hat to all of you who work in this industry because you have been responsible for countless happy experiences of mine in the past, and I never realized just how hard you all work.