Menu for 8 help

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Cooking_Doc

Assistant Cook
Hi everyone

I'm new to this food forum thing so bear with me; please :chef: ....

We are having a dinner for 8 adults in a couple of weeks. We have a pretty good idea on mains and appies, looking for some good ideas for sides....

Since it is the Easter weekend we are doing a turkey appie selection with a turkey shepherds pie (mini, in ramicans), a turkey/cranberry/blue cheese on baguette kind of open faced sandwich and turkey rolled sushi (makizushi).

We are planning to follow that with a pork belly risotto.

Our main will be sous vide beef tenderloin.

A citrus palate cleanse (sorbet and lemoncella) is next followed by dessert (cake made by a guest).

My question is, what side ideas do you have for the main? Any thoughts on the menu?

Thanks in advance

CD

Welcome to DC :)

Since it's a celebration of spring, I would choose spring vegetables. A few ideas are grilled or roasted asparagus drizzled with a balsamic reduction or lemon juice; sauteed peas and pearl onions; and sauteed carrots tossed with honey and dill. Or a nice big salad with spring beans and cold steamed veggies. Good luck.

Also.....

Wines will consist of:

A viognier with our appies

A grenache from Australia with our risotto

A Californian Cabernet Franc with our main

Thanks again.

Thanks GotGarlic!

I'd been thinking about some grilled spring Veg along with a lightish (is that a word) starch.... Was thinking about a quinoa something, just unsure of what.....

I love the grilled asparagus with balsamic drizzle, will likely include that with our main.

You're welcome. For a starch, this is not exactly light, but I love mixed grilled or roasted fingerling potatoes, and they are a spring veg. Toss with evoo and any herbs you're using with the beef. Maybe even make it a potato salad with white wine vinegar.