Need a recipe

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Annia

Assistant Cook
Hello! I have a doubt. Im going to celebrate a dinner and I would like to prepare a great food. This is really important because four very special friends are going to come. I dont mind the cost. Could someone to help me?
Thank you.

Do you want meat, fish or chicken? Do you want several courses or just a main and a spectacular dessert? There are a lot of recipes out here. We need some guidance, I think.

Hi.....what types of food do you and your friends enjoy eating when you go out? What is your cooking experience? Are you a beginner or do you feel really comfortable in the kitchen. Is there any types of meat, veg or seasoning you don't care for?

Hi! I and my friends like to go to restaurants of creative food. I am a beginner cooker. I dont cook very much. We eat meat, vegetables...

Thanks a lot.

Hi Annia! Welcome to DC!

When I plan a menu, I think about an overall concept first which will depend on what's being celebrated and the number of guests. Is it a Spanish tapas party? Is it all Thai food? Is it mixed Asian? Is it Italian? Mediterranean? Is it a romantic dinner for two? A feast? A formal sit-down or buffet type?

And then each menu item must be something I would love to eat myself, which I think my guests will enjoy, and which I know I can make very well. (I always test new recipes out on hubby. He loves being my guinea pig.)

In deciding which particular food, I normally start first with the main course. Beef, seafood, lamb or chicken? Then I match the starch that goes with it (mashed potato, fried rice, pasta, etc.) Then I decide on what veggie side dish that would accompany both well. Then I think about what starter to put (salad or soup or appetizer) that would be a nice introduction to the meal. Then finally dessert.