Need Menu Help

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

cafeandy

Senior Cook
i just got a call from a client who wants me to build a soiree around 30 lbs. of halibut this weekend and he wants it grilled. need some menu options since i'm up against the clock.

he'p me, he'p me!

sheesh, I'm not good at this stuff...

grilled veggies and various sauces for the grilled halibut?
mountains of salads?
potatoes and corn boiled together?

any of that help?

I was thinking grilled asparagus with lemon. This one is easy to multiply.

Simple Lemon Asparagus

zest of one lenom
juice of one lemon
1/4C. olive oil
1 1/2lbs. trimmed & grilled asparagus

Whisk lemon zest & juice with olive oil. Toss with asparagus.(Makes 4-6 servings)

Optional seasonings: minced garlic & shards of parmesan cheese.

Hey, Andy - here's some ideas -

HALIBUT STEAK W/MOROCCAN SPICED OIL DRIZZLE

4 servings

1tsp.coriander seed
1 tsp. cumin seed
½ tsp. fennel seed
¼ tsp.red pepper flakes
2 ½ T olive oil
salt/pepper
4 lb.halibut steaks, 1 inch thick

In a small skillet, toast coriander, cumin and fennel seeds over moderate heat til just fragrant; transfer to mortar, add red pepper flakes, and grind to a powder. Return spices to skillet and add 2T olive oil; cook over low heat til just warmed through. Pour oil through a very fine sieve and keep warm. Salt and pepper the halibut steaks, and grill or saute til browned on bottom, about 5 minutes; turn and cook other side; transfer to plates and drizzle with warm oil.

ZUCCHINI W/ MINT AND VINEGAR

4 servings

4-6 small zucchini
3T chopped mint or basil
6T olive oil
2T chopped parsley
2 large garlic cloves
salt/pepper
4T redwine vinegar

Cut zucchini into ¼ inch slices; sprinklewith salt and let stand in a colander 30 minutes; rinse well and pat dry. Combine mint or basil, parsley and garlic.