"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > General Cooking Information > Health, Nutrition and Special Diets

Old 01-25-2012, 11:23 AM   #1
Assistant Cook

Construction worker ISO healthy lunches.

Hello everyone! I'm a 24 year old 235lbs construction worker and I need healthy lunch help! At my job I am a lining technician, and we repair, clean, and televise sanitary sewer systems. Already you can see I don't have an easy-clean job. I need ideas for healthy, fast, meals I can pack for my 14-18 hour work days that doesn't need a lot of fuss to eat. Nutrition in mind for weight loss, but enough energy to make the day.

Any, and all tips are welcome. Thanks!

Old 01-25-2012, 12:15 PM   #2
Sous Chef

Hello and Welcome to DC!!!

Could you give us some ideas about your likes and dislikes in foods or allergies? Inquiring minds wanna know

P Top

Old 01-25-2012, 01:03 PM   #3
Master Chef

How about salads?

Make up some lunch bags with strips of lean meat and low fat cheese at the beginning of the week. A large tossed salad or even a "bag" salad from the store. A few small containers of salad dressing. Each morning fill a plastic bowl with salad, toss a bag of meat and cheese, a container of dressing and a couple pieces of fruit in a "six pack" cooler with a frozen bottle of water and go.

Don't forget your fork!
Old 01-25-2012, 01:04 PM   #4
Executive Chef

There are about a thousand ways to make a healthy salad. You could have a great big salad in a Tupperware bowl, with a side bowl of dressing.

The combinations of salad ingredients and types of dressings are almost endless.

It's very good for you, great tasting and easy to make the evening before work.
Old 01-25-2012, 05:34 PM   #5
Executive Chef