Construction worker ISO healthy lunches.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Slkylo

Assistant Cook
Hello everyone! I'm a 24 year old 235lbs construction worker and I need healthy lunch help! At my job I am a lining technician, and we repair, clean, and televise sanitary sewer systems. Already you can see I don't have an easy-clean job. I need ideas for healthy, fast, meals I can pack for my 14-18 hour work days that doesn't need a lot of fuss to eat. Nutrition in mind for weight loss, but enough energy to make the day.

Any, and all tips are welcome. Thanks!

How about salads?

Make up some lunch bags with strips of lean meat and low fat cheese at the beginning of the week. A large tossed salad or even a "bag" salad from the store. A few small containers of salad dressing. Each morning fill a plastic bowl with salad, toss a bag of meat and cheese, a container of dressing and a couple pieces of fruit in a "six pack" cooler with a frozen bottle of water and go.

Don't forget your fork!

There are about a thousand ways to make a healthy salad. You could have a great big salad in a Tupperware bowl, with a side bowl of dressing.

The combinations of salad ingredients and types of dressings are almost endless.

It's very good for you, great tasting and easy to make the evening before work.

welcome to dc slklyo! my favorite lunch combination would be soup and a sandwich--filling and satisfying without high costing calories if you choose carefully. maybe start with a pea, bean or lentil soup with a tomato/lettuce sandwich sprinkled with bacon bits....