Eating right at college

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

reese5957

Assistant Cook
I am in my second year of college and I have seen the effects that not eating well can have. I dont have a lot of time to eat healthy and I am definitely lacking the energy I need to carry all these books:) . Does anyone have any recipes or food tips that can allow a poor college student to stay energized and healthy?

Welcome to the site. I am sure you will get a lot of great suggestions here.

My first questions for you are what do you have to work with? Are you in a dorm or are you in an apt with a kitchen? Do you have access to a stove or just a hot pot and maybe a microwave? This will help us come up with some suggestions for you.

Thanks for replying to my post. I live in an apartment so I have a full kitchen.

Hey, I'm glad I found this thread, because I'm also in college. I live in a dorm but I'm graduating so I hope to have an apartment next year. I also could use a little help about food and eating healthy as well. Thanks.

Try http://foodtv.com and go to Rachel Ray's 30 minute meals. They're fast, healthy and delicious. Eating at fast food places does not help so I cooked a lot when I was in college in order to keep the weight off. Good luck.

Last edited:
I'm in college too and while I've seen a number of fellow college students struggle with weight gain, I've managed to avoid it by opting for healthy snacks and meals. It's a challenge sometimes, especially when everyone "goes out for pizza and beer", but if you want to stay healthy there are always healthy choices.