"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > General Cooking Information > Health, Nutrition and Special Diets

Old 10-14-2007, 04:25 PM   #1
Assistant Cook

For allergy elimination diet-something with broccoli

Anyone have an idea for a recipe with broccoli and rice pasta? I'm on an allergy elimination diet, so no wheat, soy, milk, peanuts, eggs, oranges, etc. I have this lemony olive oil from Trader Joe's that might go good... maybe steam the broccoli partly, finish in a skillet with garlic, then toss with rice pasta and lemony olive oil?

I'm not experienced so if you have a recipe idea I need the steps spelled out to some degree.

Thanks,
Mike

Old 10-14-2007, 04:51 PM   #2
Sue-Zee-Q

Hi Mike,

What you said sounds delicious :-)

What exactly are you trying to find out you are allergic to? Or have you just been told to eliminate everything and start adding things back in gradually after a 2 week cleanse?

I suggest trying the following sauce if you like a cream/cheese sauce:

1 tablespoon olive oil, heated
1 tablespoon flour (your choice of buckwheat, rice, spelt, kamut)
1 tsp dry mustard powder
1 cup milk (rice in your case)
1/2 cup of rice milk cheese, grated

Heat the olive oil then whisk in the flour, add the milk, mustard powder, cheese and of course salt to your taste. Heat through throroughly. Stirring constantly.

For a thicker sauce, add more oil and flour in equal amounts, but you have to decide how thick you like the sauce. I have never tried this with any flour other than wheat or anything other than cow's milk. So I don't know how this will turn out.

Good luck.
Old 10-14-2007, 04:55 PM   #3
Assistant Cook

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sue-Zee-Q View Post
Hi Mike,

What exactly are you trying to find out you are allergic to? Or have you just been told to eliminate everything and start adding things back in gradually after a 2 week cleanse?