"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > General Cooking Information > Health, Nutrition and Special Diets

Old 04-30-2008, 12:14 PM   #1
Sous Chef

Net carbs vs actual carbs?

Ok-so I've been doing the "low carb" thing for a few months, and its working pretty well. Weight is coming off and I don't feel deprived- but I have always had a "sweet tooth"

My wife brought home some Atkins bars and shakes last week, and they do satisfy the yearning for sweets. But I'm a little concerned regarding the actual carbs on the nutrition panel vs the "net" carbs.

Do you count the net carbs as part of your daily total or the actual carbs? If you count the actual carbs, then they are'nt the godsend I thought they were.

Thanks

Old 04-30-2008, 12:22 PM   #2
Certified Pretend Chef

You count the net carbs.

Basically, total carbs - dietary fiber = net carbs. The dietary fiber does not count as carbs for a low carb, Atkins type, diet.

Old 04-30-2008, 12:29 PM   #3
Senior Cook

I only count the "net impact carbs" those are the carbs that spike insulin, that's what we are trying to avoid when eating carbs. If you have a sweet tooth like I do you might want to look into Doctor's CarbRite Diet Bar They have about 20 grams of protein, and 2 to 3 grams of impact carbs. They are by far the best tasting protein bars I have tried and I have tried many. They come in many flavors too. Here is a link: Product

You can find these alot cheaper on the internet then the prices they list there.
Old 04-30-2008, 12:51 PM   #4
Sous Chef

Thanks!! That is good news!! Does that equation (total carbs - dietary fiber=net carbs) apply to everything? And while I've got your ear(s) is there anything else (on the nutrition panels) that I should be looking at/avoiding? So far all I've done is pretty much stick to proteins-meat, cheese, eggs etc, and I can live with that, but a little variety would be nice.