"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > General Cooking Information > Health, Nutrition and Special Diets
Click Here to Login
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-07-2016, 01:57 AM   #1
Assistant Cook
Tyler78's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Toronto
Posts: 7
Semolina to avoid for gluten intolerance?

Should Semolina be avoided for people with gluten intolerance? It's a major ingredient in many products. If so, what can I use to replace it?


Tyler78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2016, 06:24 AM   #2
Head Chef
CakePoet's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Wexio
Posts: 1,511
Well semolina is durum wheat and there for contains gluten.

You have to find gluten free flour instead, it all depends on what you are going to use it for, sometimes you can use gluten free polenta ( glutenfree polenta is done in a mill that doesnt mill any grain containing gluten), almond meal or hazelnut meal. It all depends on what you are making. But make sure it says gluten free on the box.
For the love of Cheese!
CakePoet is online now   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

» Discuss Cooking on Facebook

Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:16 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.