Storing Opened Sake?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Dio S

Assistant Cook
Is it possible to store opened sake using one of those vacuum wine stoppers? I have one of these and it works fine with wines, but wondering if it will work on sake since it can be very delicate.

Basically I want to get into trying different sakes, but there's nobody I know who'd share with me, so I want to drink a bottle of daiginjo over say a week. Wondering if it's feasible. Help appreciated.

Those vacuum stoppers have been proven to not do anything. You would get the exact same results with just putting a regular stopper back in the bottle.

I am no expert, but I would guess that the Daiginjo would be fine for a week.

GB, you mean I've been yanking on those things for years for no more than a perceived benefit?

I'll tell you what Andy. Do a test and tell us. Take two bottles and open them at the same time. Have your SO help you. Each time you pour a glass one of you gets from the vacuum sealed bottle and the other gets from the non vacuum bottle. See if you can tell a difference.

I'll tell you what Andy. Do a test and tell us. Take two bottles and open them at the same time. Have your SO help you. Each time you pour a glass one of you gets from the vacuum sealed bottle and the other gets from the non vacuum bottle. See if you can tell a difference.

But that would involve sharing my wine with her...

Make her buy her own bottle. Better yet, make her buy both and have her share with you.

Now you're talkin'!

I did a quick search and the concensus apppears to be that the most you can expect is a couple of days of drinkabilty. That's enough fo rme.