Un-aged Scotch?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

PA Baker

Master Chef
Is there such a thing as un-aged scotch, or scotch you can buy and let age? My dad is a scotch fan and over the years has kept three good bottles for special occasions--when I graduated from college, when I got married and when he retires. DH and I would like to get him a bottle to celebrate him becoming a grandpa for the first time this fall that can age for 21 years--so someday he can share a drink with his grandchild.

What should we be looking for?

PA
I don't know about US whiskies, or even Irish ones, but
any Scottish single malt whisky is already 'aged' before you get it. The 'youngest' is usually about 10 years old.

My husband's favourites are Bowmore, Strathisla and Highland Park.

Whiskies like Johnny Walker are blended whiskies.

I don't know much about scotch, but I believe the aging process imparts the flavors from the wood barrels into the scotch. Once it is bottled it is not really aging anymore. It is getting older, but not aging.

yep, scotch does not age in the bottle. i wish it did. i have several bottles that i found when i refinished the basement that my fil stashed away. they had been hidden for at least 25 years. i asked some scotch afficianados at work about it, and all they said it still only rates by the age on the label, but that i should bring it in for them to test. :cool:

My advice would be to work out what type of whisky (we don't call it Scotch - after all, there IS only one whisky....:LOL:
he likes. It would be so easy to make a mistake. Islay malts have an astringent, some say sea-weedy note.