Help with juicing

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

slanoue

Assistant Cook
Hi, everyone. I got a juicer for Christmas. It did not come with a very good instruction manual and NO recipe book. I have never used one of these before. So far I made orange juice and apple juice.

I am wondering if this is normal. Both came out very pulpy, not very easy to drink. The OJ was sour; the oranges were not that fresh so maybe that's why. The apple juice was ok. It took a whole lot of fruit to make a little bit of juice. Is that normal? The OJ did not taste as good as when I have made fresh-squeezed by hand, but I do plan to try again with fresher oranges. I bought bagged fruit, so maybe I have to get the individual ones for it to taste good. Is there a particular type of apple to use? The bag was Braeburn. It tasted like apples...but, like I said, pulpy and not all that great. I guess I expected it to taste more like fresh apple cider or more like the store bought juice (only better). It seems like the juicer will only take a few pieces at once and it makes a lot of mess for just a little bit of juice.

I will probably try to find a good juicing book with recipes...

Any thoughts, ideas, answers?

Thanks!!

Suzanne Lanoue
me@suzann.com
http://suzann.com

Well my first thoughts are that the flavor of the juice is directly connected to the quality of the fruit. If the juice did not taste that great then the fruit was probably not that good to start with.

I think it probably depends on the particular juicer you got, but I do not think the juice should be pulpy. Most units (as far as I know) are supposed to separate the pulp from the juice. Maybe you are missing a part or it is not set up correctly?