Proper Cup of Tea

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
My apologies Ishbel, I didn't mean to suggest that!

Great Britain has been drinking tea like that for hundreds of years, and isn't apt to change anytime soon...

Its us goofy colonials that have the different tastes...no doubt stemming from pioneering days, when there wasn't necessarily a source of milk by winter (too cold for the cows!), or in the Great Depression of the '30's, when milk would be "reserved" for the youngest child or children...

Anyways, can I "accurately relate" that it was a long time ago that my grannies told "me" that?
:LOL: :oops:

AMAZING!

I am astounded that so many grown people cannot make a pot of tea.

Ishbel's procedure (apart from the milk) is the correct one.

You should add nothing to a green tea.

I am just learning myself. For me it is taking a lot of trial and error. I just re-watched Alton Brown's show on tea and he had a lot of helpful info. I hope I am giving correct advice here so if anyone nows different then please feel free to correct me.

Alton said that for Black teas the water should be hotter than for green teas. He gave the temp ranges, but basically said that for black teas you should bring the teapot to the kettle and for green teas bring the kettle to the teapot (give the water time to cool).

He also said not to use the tea balls, but to just put the leaves right into the pot. They need room to expand. Then when you pour the tea just pour it into the cup through a strainer.

Another thing he said was about measuring tea. He said that the reason a teaspoon is called that is because it is a good measurement for one cup of tea. He was not talking about a measured teaspoon, but the actual spoon you will put in your cup to stir it if you are using milk or sugar or anything.