Tried to make root beer, what went wrong?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

my65289stang

Assistant Cook
I used this page

http://biology.clc.uc.edu/fankhauser/Cheese/ROOTBEER_Jn0.htm

I think I followed it to a "T" but after I chilled the rootbeer, cracked her open and it had a funny smell. It smelled like rootbeer at first but had a funny "after-smell"(don't think that is a word but Ill pretend like it is). I decided to taste it anyways and it tasted a little like rootbeer at first and then the after taste was kind of like normal beer. Any thoughts as to what I may have done wrong? I left it at room temp for about 4 days, but room temp here in AZ is probably 78* or so. Was that too hot or something?

Thanks
Brian

Hi stang, btw is that fastback or coupe?
I've never tried to make rootbeer before, but that looks like a pretty cool project. Thanks for the link:) . I really don't know why it didn't turn out for you, but I would look at two possibilities.
First, many homemade foods or brews do not taste like commercial products. Many of the craft brewed root beers or ginger ales will not taste like A&W, Hire's, Schwepps or Seagram's ect... You may want to try some of the craft or specialty brewed rootbeers to see how they compare with what you made.
Second, it may be possible that you didn't clean or sterilize your container well enough before containing and fermenting your rootbeer.
Ronjohn I believe is an advid homebrewer and may be able to shed some light on this. Keep on trying, you'll get it the way you like.

Thanks JohnL

My car is a coupe by the way:) I built my 289 into a 347 stroker(shhhh....don't tell anyone:LOL: ) and put a 5 speed behind it, lots of fun. It took me just about 5 1/2 years to restore it and I only have about 400 miles on it so far, lots of fun still to come.