Coconut Milk

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Zagut

Head Chef
While spelunking in the pantry I found a can of "Lite Coconut Milk" I bought for a recipe I can't remember and obviously never made.

What can I do with it besides tossing it?

I've never used it before and am interested in any ideas you good folk can suggest.

Maybe I can use it in a batch of chili since almost anything works in the many variations of chili known to mankind. ;)

Tom Kha soup! You can put chicken or shrimp in it, or not. I didn't have galangal (need to find some) but ginger works.

Thinking. Chicken broth, some chopped green onions, I used grated frozen gingerroot, along with your coconut milk and a bit of lime juice, or kaffir lime leaves. Lemongrass.

Some good recipes online.

I could bathe in the stuff.

Last edited:
Curry. Rice pudding.

Dawg, most oriental markets have galangal in the freezer section.

Last edited:
I make a Burmese dish ( similar to the Tom Kha soup above).
Fry up some garlic/ oil ( a clove or two)

Dump in the following:
1 can coconut milk
Equal amount of chicken broth ( I use veg chicken broth )
My Friend added chicken, and hard boiled quail eggs ( I didnt I add other vegetarian crap)

Cook linguini ( or an Asian-type noodle) and drain.

When pasta is done , put a portioned amount in a soup-like bowl
Add on top of the pasta:
-Some fried garlic
-Some chopped cilantro
-A squeeze of lime
-A few shakes of hot pepper flakes if you desire

Then ladle the coconut soup on top.

Thats it.
(requires both fork and spoon to eat)

My son loves it.

Curry. Rice pudding.

Dawg, most oriental markets have galangal in the freezer section.

Good point. Our nearest oriental market is 45 minutes away, but I'm putting it on the list for the next time I drive by.

Eta: GG beat me to this as I was typing, but here's my recipe.