Strange Scenario - No oven, limited hardware...

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

philipb

Assistant Cook
Hello!

Just stumbled onto this forum and I love it! Thought it would be a great place to try and find a little help for my current living situation:

I'm a music student living in Poland, and in my new apartment I have only one small pot, one large soup pot, two frying pans, and a stove top. No oven, nothing fancy as far as hardware goes (grills, griddles, slow cookers, blenders, etc. etc.).

For the last 6 months I feel like I've been relatively creative with my meal-planning. You can get almost any normal groceries here in Poland (except for peanut butter, oddly enough...:glare:), so I've been making a nice but small variety of soups, pasta dishes, and the like. Here's been my normal repetoire:

SOUPS:
-spicy chicken
-potato and leek
-potato and kielbasa
-lentil
-beef, barley, and mushrooms
-chicken noodle

PASTA DISHES:
-chicken broccoli and ziti
-breaded chicken and a honey-mustard sauce over pasta
-chicken and sauteed mushrooms w/cream over pasta
-pasta carbonara

OTHERS:
-breaded chicken breasts, mashed potatoes, and a veggie
-any variation of the pasta dishes, but over rice
-chicken curry salad
-tuna salad
-stir fry
-and my favorite don't-feel-like-cooking-meal, rice, tuna, kidney beans, and corn, all mixed up together with a little soy sauce and mayo. tastes much better than it sounds...and perfect poor-man/music student food :)

The problem is...after 6 months of rotating through the same eight or so meals, (since chicken + mushrooms over pasta is strikingly similar to chicken + broccoli over pasta after half a year...), I've burnt out on these meals and can't think of anything else to cook! My limited hardware makes it worse - I feel like if I had my trusty crockpot from the states, or an oven to bake/broil with, I'd have less of a problem.