Help with Wines in cooking please

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

MrsRecce01

Assistant Cook
Hi,
I am completely new to cooking but as a new wife I decided it's time to give it a try! I'm trying to make my own version of Olive Garden's Chicken Crostina from a recipe book I have. It instructs to use white wine, but I only have red wines so I would like to try and make red work. I have different reds and need some imput on which one would be best.
I have:
Merlot (Rockbrook & Fetzer)
Cabernet sauvignon (Rex-Goliath)
Zinfandel (Twisted)
and something called Citra - Montepulciano D'Abruzzo

Thanks very much for your help!

Hello and welcome to DC.

The first and last wines you listed will be fine to cook with.

I'd stay away from the Cab as it's tannic and oaky. That can effect the taste of the dish.

Red wine is going to change the color of the dish a tad and add a stronger flavor than white. You can leave it out completely or you can add a little less than the recipe calls for. Nice to meet you, MrsRecce :flowers:

I googled the recipe and found this.

Mangia Y'all: Olive Garden's Chicken Crostini

I think I would go buy some white and drink the red with dinner.
White sauces turn purple and funky with red wine.
Chicken stack and a little lemon juice would be a good substitution.

If you buy the white you can drink the leftovers while cooking!
A dry white would be best.

"I like cooking with wine...sometimes I even put it in the food"

Thank you very much for your advice! So which do you think? The merlot or the Italian? I suppose I should try them and use which one I like the best? Based on my experience with last nights dish I think cooking is a lot of trial and error? LOL
Thank you all very much! I'm sure I'll have more questions soon!