Bacon-wrapped filet mignon/steak recipe...raw bacon, overcooked beef?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

hypeforlife91

Assistant Cook
Hi there,
I'm still very new to cooking. I tried this recipe which is to wrap boneless steak inside a strip of bacon. I used a countertop toaster oven for it. However, the problem I am having is that the steak would be cooked already and the bacon would be still a little pink after broiling for 5-7 minutes on each side. Is the bacon okay to eat or will people get sick?

When I wait a bit longer, the bacon would get crispy, but the beef would be tough. What am I doing wrong? I even scored the beef already.

Thanks!

I agree w/Josie and Z. Also, make sure it is really thin bacon. Another way might be to get a hot pan and "roll" the steak on the bacon to start it then into the oven? Might work.

Bacon has sodium nitrates, or nitrites (I always get them mixed up!) that causes the meat to stain pink unless it's very well done. If the bacon has that bacon texture, you know, somewhat chewy, and a little crisp, then it's done through and won't cause anyone any problems.

Look at bacon place raw into baked beans, or soup. It remains pinkish-brown, even when it's been in the dish cooking for hours.

Seeeeeya; Goodweed of the North

Hi there,
I'm still very new to cooking. I tried this recipe which is to wrap boneless steak inside a strip of bacon. I used a countertop toaster oven for it. However, the problem I am having is that the steak would be cooked already and the bacon would be still a little pink after broiling for 5-7 minutes on each side. Is the bacon okay to eat or will people get sick?

When I wait a bit longer, the bacon would get crispy, but the beef would be tough. What am I doing wrong? I even scored the beef already.

Thanks!