Cooking a frozen stuffed turkey in an oven bag

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jasonn

Assistant Cook
so due to time restraints i am attempting to cook a frozen stuffed turkey in an oven bag. Is this safe? I have read that most suggest to not do it due to the difficulty of removing the giblets but that has already been done before cooking. Is there any danger of food poisoning using this method to cook the frozen prestuffed turkey? Also, any idea on cook times? The oven bag only gives times on thawed meats. Thanks for your help.

How big is the turkey and how long do you plan to cook it? Are you cooking it today? It doesn't sound safe to me, but I'm no expert.
Its 5.5kg (12.1 pounds) and im really not sure how long to cook it... The instructions on the turkey say to cook it for 7 hours in a roasting pan, slightly covered with tin foil. We're just looking to cut the cook time by a couple hours and not get anyone sick in the process.

Hi Jason, I don't know if it is really safe but I've done this many, many times in past years and no one died! As I recall, the cooking time was a little longer. Also, I always used a thermometer to make sure the bird was fully cooked.

Hi Jason, I don't know if it is really safe but I've done this many, many times in past years and no one died! As I recall, the cooking time was a little longer. Also, I always used a thermometer to make sure the bird was fully cooked.
Do you mean longer as in longer than the times given on the oven bag or longer than the time it would take to roast it? We have a thermometer but unforuntately its not oven safe so can only test it when we think its done.

Use the temps and times on the roasting bag box. Then check the temp of the meat and gauge how much more time you'll need. I may be remembering wrong, but I thought for a frozen bird that size in a roasting bag, it was more like 5 hours.