"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > General Cooking Information > Cooking Resources > Food and Kitchen Safety

Old 07-25-2009, 05:00 PM   #1
Master Chef

Have you ever made someone sick?

I'm curious. Nowadays there is so much going on about food safety, and I can't help but wonder if anyone here ever has?

I've been cooking for 30 years, give or take, and my mom has for, well, all eternity. My grandmothers were both pretty bad cooks, according to everyone, but I don't think they ever made someone sick. And they all had food practices that would apall us today.

The only people who have ever sickened because of my food were those who I told to avoid foods on the table that I pointed out as something they should not eat. That is to say, I tell someone I know is lactose intolerant not to eat the friggin' cheese, told my mom not to eat that dish because there were seeds in it, etc; and in each case had provided tons of other stuff equally as delicious for them to eat.

My mom never poisoned someone, even though she used to stuff the turkey the night before (something I'd never do in a million years). I go out of my way to be more sanitary, but I sometimes wonder if I'm being silly.

Are we paranoid? How many of you have actually made someone sick because of bad practices?

Old 07-25-2009, 05:07 PM   #2
Chief Eating Officer

It is next to impossible to know if any of us has ever made anyone sick. Food poisoning has many many symptoms, some as mild as a headache and the symptoms can start 2 days after you eat the food that causes it. Food poisoning can also only be diagnosed by a doctor who does the test to tell if you have food poisoning, so unless every person you have ever fed goes to the doctor for every little ach and pain they have ever had and gets tested then there is simply no way to know if you have ever made someone sick.

Old 07-25-2009, 06:11 PM   #3
Sous Chef

Not that I know of.
GB is right too.