Reheating Meat/Chicken

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

gus030

Assistant Cook
Hello I am new to the board, I started learning to cook about a year ago and am steadily getting better at it

One question I have (it may be silly)

After I cook some chicken or hamburgers, etc, I may have a few pieces leftover that I cover with plastic wrap and put in the fridge.

I have seen conflicting msgs online about if it is safe to eat this after putting in the fridge and if i have to reheat it to a certain temp.

I normally eat the food 1-2 days after I refridgerate it. Do I need to follow any special instructions when reheating it to avoid bacteria?

Thanks

As long as it is fully cooked when it goes into the fridge then you are fine. You do not even have to reheat it to eat it. You can eat it cold out of the fridge if you want.

Welcome to the forum!

Whether heating or cooling food, the objective is to minimize the amount of time the food stays in the "danger zone", from 40F-140F (0-60C). This is the temperature range in which most bacteria can grow rapidly.

For example, when removing food from the fridge to reheat, don't leave it sitting out at room temperature for too long. The same is true of cooked food you plan to refrigerate or freeze. Let it cool down before putting it in the fridge, but no longer than necessary.

The FDA recommends that you reheat foods to a minimum of 165F and that you never leave food sitting out at room temperature for more than 2 hours. To me, this can be too long. A lot of bacteria can grow in 2 hours. Use your own best judgment, but the rule is "as little time as possible".

I do not see a need to let food "cool down" before putting it in the fridge, unless your fridge is really full and the food is really warm and you don't want to put that food next to something like milk that is already cold in the fridge.