Dumplings

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Potholder

Assistant Cook
Sure could use some advice. My efforts to make flour based dumplings for a chicken or a beef stew fail miserably. As soon as they hit the hot liquid they start to absorb it like a piece of fresh bread and I end up with a pot full of soggy mush. I've tried steaming the raw dumplings first to "harden" up the surface but all this did was delay for a very short time the trip to mushdom. One cookbook says "...avoid putting dumplings directly in the hot broth....". I can't figure out how to cook them in the stew without putting them in the broth.

Is there somebody who can give me a bit of advice - or a lead on where I can get a little smarter? I sure like dumplings but not when they swell up to fill the whole pot!!

I am no expert and have never made dumplings before... but maybe smaller dumplings?

I need some more information, Can you post your dumpling recipe, or tell me if the raising agent is self raising flour or if it's yeast? YOu could have more success with a yeast based dumpling. Also what fat is in the dumpling. Butter and selfraising flour make light dumplings, but they end up being sponges and falling apart. Lard or suet and yeast based dumplings tend to be more resilient and keep their shape.

And is your broth a light liquid or thicker like a gravy? The lighter the liquid the more of it is going to be absorbed into your dumpling and the mush potential is greater.

Good luck!

A few tips on getting firmer dumplings:

Less liquid in the recipe
Less leavener - I use none
Make sure your broth is fully simmering
Let your dumpling batter sit a while for the starches to fully hydrate