Recipes for leftover ham

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

lil'wifewhocannotcook

Assistant Cook
I am an inexperienced cook with tons of leftover ham from Christmas dinner and only my husband, myself, and my 2 young stepchildren (who are only with us every other weekend) to eat all of it. What on earth do I do with all of it? I know of hot ham & cheese sandwiches and scalloped potatoes & ham, but that's it. A nice, simple recipe for bean & ham soup would be nice. Thanks so much!

Sorry, it ain't bean and ham soup, but I often make this to use up ham. My mum came up with it and never wrote down the recipe. This is my best guess. It's just a guide, you could add chilli, or more vegetables, I often add peppers.

Ham and Apple Dish

2 medium onions, chopped
2 cloves garlic, crushed
2 cups cooked ham, cut into large dice
2 apples, cut into dice same size as ham
1 tin diced tomatoes
1 tablespoon tomato paste/puree
1 cup (approx) water, wine or tomato juice
fresh or dried herbs to taste (thyme, oregano, basil – any or all of these)
black pepper

Fry onions and garlic until soft but not browned. Add tomatoes, tomato puree, liquid, herbs and pepper to taste. Allow to simmer for 10 mins. Add ham and apple, and simmer until heated through.
Serve as a pasta sauce, with mashed potatoes or with rice.

to Lilwifewhocanntocook
A Ham and Bean soup creation just for you!

Ham and Bean Soup
For the stock
1 Ham bone
1 onion chopped
2 cloves garlic chopped
1 rib celery chopped
1/8 tsp dried thyme
black pepper to taste
3 qts water

For the soup
1 can navy beans
1 can pinto beans
1 can butter beans
Ham chunks (the more the merrier)
1 jalapeno pepper chopped
juice from 1/2 lemon
2 qts ham stock
2 cloves garlic chopped
1 onion chopped
1 rib celery diced
1/8 tsp Dried Thyme
1/8 tsp dried oregano
salt and pepper to taste