"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > Recipes & Ingredients > Herbs and Spices
Old 12-03-2013, 04:48 AM   #1
Assistant Cook
Spices for pasta side dish?

I almost never eat pasta, so I have little experience with it as an ingredient, but it has been recommended to me as a side dish next to various meats or livers in various sauces, cooking it with butter, salt and pepper.

I have tried this and I found it to be an interesting combination, only that the pasta seemed somewhat bland to me. I would like to see if I can add more flavor with spices or herbs but am unsure what to try, and also wether the spices/herbs used would depend on what the pasta is served with.

Any shared culinary thoughts are appreciated.

Dirk101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2013, 06:11 AM   #2
Executive Chef
A simple pasta dish would be olive oil, garlic and anchovies. Maybe some parmesan. While the pasta is cooking, you make the sauce.

Emeralds are real Gems! C. caninus & C. Batesii.
CraigC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2013, 06:38 AM   #3
Chef Extraordinaire
There are many ways to dress pasta, from a simple garlic/olive oil/Parmesan sauce to a long-cooked meat sauce. And different types and shapes of pasta often work better with certain sauces. In general, thin, delicate pasta works best with light, delicate sauces and thicker, heavier pasta works best with heartier sauces.

When I was really getting into cooking, I learned a lot from Rachael Ray. Here's a sort of guide to some common pasta shapes from her magazine with suggestions for accompanying sauces and some variations: http://www.rachaelraymag.com/food-ho...uce-recipes/1/

Note that you don't have to use that specific pasta with a given sauce. You could use penne or rotini for any of the small pastas in that list.
The trouble with eating Italian food is that five or six days later you're hungry again. ~ George Miller
GotGarlic is online now   Reply With Quote